Dust Bolt – Sound and Fury

After our interview with Lenny Bruce at Wacken Open Air we got really excited about the new album that was going to be released in February and now it’s finally here.

Dust Bolt released “Sound & Fury” on the 23th of February and the album is as exciting as was promised.
It has a totally different sound than what we are usually expecting when we think of Dust Bolt, but in my opinion it’s a good change. You can easily notice this by looking at the album cover alone.  Where the other album covers are colorful and portray destruction. “Sound & Fury” is a grey picture of the band in different poses.  The main difference on the album itself, for me is that we hear a totally different Lenny Bruce as vocalist, he sounds more melodic than on the previous albums, and the difference is quite surprising.

The first single that came out in 2023, I Witness”, already showed some of this transformation from the thrash we were expecting. Though keeping the aggressiveness, it adds a certain melodic depth that creates a different style they continue across the entire album. If you are looking for a classic Dust Bolt thrash fest, I have to disappoint you. It’s hard, it’s aggressive but it’s not the classic Dust Bolt.

Lenny Bruce said “This album might sound a little different now and then, but we’ve been trying to find a space where our emotions can be free and not judged. You can scream when you want to scream, you can freak out, you can bang your head like crazy… that’s what metal is about, you know?”
Following this philosophy, you can really hear that the band had a lot of fun when making this album

“Leave Nothing Behind” the first track of this album really gets you with the heavy start. Thunderous guitars and beating drums do give the feel of the classic Dust Bolt. But there’s a twist in the song where the clean vocals come in and there’s a rhythmic and catchy chorus.

All in all, Sound & Fury takes you on the journey that is Dust Bolt. From the youngsters they were when the band first started, to the new matured band that stands in front of you today. For most diehard fans this album may come as a shock but it’s definitely worth a listen.

Don’t forget to check out Dust Bolt on tour tour dates

Rating: 7/10

Release Date: 23 February 2024
Label: AFM Records

Writer: Antonie


  1. Leave Nothing Behind
  2. I Witness
  3. I am The One
  4. New Flame
  5. Burning Pieces
  6. Sound and Fury
  7. Love & Reality
  8. Bluedeep
  9. Disco Nnection
  10. You Make Me Feel (Nothing)
  11. Feel The Storm
  12. Little Stone


Hi, My Name is Antonie and I'm from The Netherlands. I fell in love with music at a young age and I am still discovering new types of music everyday. Some of my favorite bands are Bon Jovi, Creed, Powerwolf, Rob Zombie, Alice Cooper, Turisas, Misfits and Black Sabbath/Ozzy Osbourne. However I always say my musical taste varies between Black Metal and Disney. Since I started with a radio show on HeadbangersFM in 2014, I have been busy with doing interviews and writing reviews. In my spare time I also like to play videogames and I stream on Twitch.

Learn More →