Glorior Belli – Sundown (The Flock That Welcomes)

Release date: May 6th, 2016
Record label: Agonia Records

Glorior Belli - Sundown By Wouter H.
As I am curious about black metal projects thinking outside the box, Glorior Belli piqued my interest. The project of multi-instrumentalist Infestvvs namely isn’t your typical black metal band. He combines it with sludge metal and is able to evoke a great atmosphere. Sundown (The Flock That Welcomes) is the sixth full-length of this French black metal project and I was happily surprised by it.

Glorior Belli takes you on a journey through many different musical passages. It takes you through repetetive atmospheric riffs, blastbeats and thickly distorted sludges. All accompanied by aggressive roars that fit very well with this style. There are even some crust punk drum patterns. And all of this results in the eight tracks being over before you know it. The album is very dynamic because of the tempo changes but they still manage to make it sound as a whole. It is not chaotic at all.

Sundown (The Flock That Welcomes) is an excellent black metal albums that explores uncommon features within the genre like atmospheric sludges. It’s a heavy and dynamic album surrounded by a dark atmosphere. The song structures and riffs are all sophisticated and the growls fit perfectly within this style. I would also like to give a thumbs up for the bass lines especially.

Rating: 8,5/10
1. Lies-Strangled Skies
2. World So Spurious
3. Rebels in Disguise
4. Thrall of Illusions
5. Sundown (The Flock That Welcomes)
6. Satanists Out of Cosmic Jail
7. Upheaval in Chaos Waters
8. We Whose Glory Was Despised