Witherscape – The Inheritance

Label: Century Media
Release: 29-07-2013

After playing in numerous bands (Edge of Sanity, Bloodbath) and spending years as producer for other metal bands (example: Opeth, Katatonia, Asphyx, Dissection) Swedish producer/multi-instrumentalist Dan Swanö is back in the saddle. Together with Ragnar Widerberg, he started the conceptual project Witherscape. The result of these combined forces is The Inheritance: an alluring album with an interesting mix of metal styles.

The Inheritance tells the story of a wealthy main character who lives in Stockholm in the late 1800’s. He inherets an estate from his family in a remote village in northern part of Sweden. Once the main character visits the estate strange things start to happen. The lyrics are written by Paul Kuhr from Novembers Doom.

Music wise, Dan and Ragnar tap into the past of Swanö. The death metal influence (a la Edge of Sanity) can be distinguished on most songs. But that is far from all. The songs take you on a ride across the metal spectrum. The tracks are progressive, sometimes technical, they have a dash of heavy metal and spacey instrumental pieces (The Math of The Myth, for example). Besides his renowned guttural vocals, Dan also provides the clean vocals. This isn’t his strongest point, but it is not bad either.

With the Inheritance, Swanö and Widerberg created a musical project that pushes metal boundaries in a successful way. The music (and the story if you pay attention to it) is intriguing and dynamic. Be sure to check out the debut of this duo!


Dan Swanö – Vocals, Drums and Keyboards
Ragnar Widerberg – Guitars and Bass

Rating: 8/10
Track list:
01. Mother Of The Soul
02. Astrid Falls
03. Dead For A Day
04. Dying For The Sun
05. To The Calling Of Blood And Dreams
06. The Math Of The Myth
07. Crawling From Validity
08. The Wedlock Observation
09. The Inheritance

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *