Mortillery – Origin of Extinction

Releasedate: 22 February 2013
Label: Napalm Records

By Wouter
Origin of Extinction is the second album by Canadian thrashers Mortillery. They made a promising debut with fast chainsaw guitars and harsh female vocals. Now I’ll be reviewing Origin of Extinction with high hopes. Thrash metalheads should fasten their seatbelts because “Murder Death Kill” was merely the beginning and just the calmness before the storm.

Origin of Extinction has the same ingredients which made the previous record a good debut. Their sound is very much similar, but now they seem te be more focused on melodies. Like the two and a half minute taking intro “Battle March”. It’s a very easy going instrumental song though, which doesn’t exactly say that they’re here and that they mean bussiness. Luckily they do that shortly after; during “No Way Out”. But these moments tend to start after long intro’s. Still, when the verses start, the music is very enjoyable again with those amazing vocals. This time around it’s less aggressive and more epic, though. The riffs are, just like the debut, very influenced by early thrash metal acts. The main problem is that the drums are not really present in the mix. They should make your ears bleed with the hellish tempos. I really think that this is a big loss for this cd.

Overall, Origin of Extinction is a good thrash metal cd. More focused on melodies compared to the debut, but it still has lots of mosh-riffs. My favorite songs on here are “No Way Out” and “Maniac”, which are the most moshable. Again, it’s actually worth checking for thrashers with a fetish for old school acts!

Rating: 7/10
Track list:
1. Battle March
2. No Way Out
3. Cease to Exist
4. Creature Possessor
5. Seen in Death
6. Feed the Fire
7. The Hunter’s Lair
8. F.O.A.D.
9. Maniac
10. Sunday Morning Slasher