Hate – Solarflesh

Releasedate: 1 February 2013
Label: Napalm Records

By Wouter
The Polish death metal scene produced a number of big bands. All of them with that typical, let’s say, Polish sound. Hate is one of them. Started in the early 90’s already as one of the earlier death metal bands. Solarflesh is their eight full-length in their career with still that specific dark atmosphere which seperates the Polish death metal scene from the rest of the world.

On this album you can expect 90’s death metal which you are used from these guys. The melancholic melodies and powerful vocals match perfectly. Which creates a dark and powerful atmosphere. And then there are the blastbeats to wake you up. Although they focus more on the groovier tempos now. So in general this is a more easy-going version of their previous stuff. And the drummer does the double bass through most of the songs, even during the mid-tempo parts. But this is an interesting listen nonetheless. Also interesting for people who are more into modern style of death metal because of the grooves.
Solarflesh is a decent record from the Polish death metal scene. More focused on grooves and atmosphere rather than blastbeasts, but there still are ofcourse a fair amount of blastbeats. The biggest highlight are probably the vocals. And let’s face it, it’s pretty much the same stuff they did the last few years. Decent, but nothing groundbreaking but it’s definitely worth to check out for fans of the Polish death metal scene.

Official site

Rating: 6,5
Track list:
1. Watchful Eye ov Doom
2. Eternal Might
3. Alchemy ov Blood
4. Timeless Kingdom
5. Festival ov Slaves
6. Sadness Will Last Forever
7. Solarflesh
8. Endless Purity
9. Mesmerized

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *