• CD review 2017
  • Nightbringer – Terra Damnata

    ‘As above, so below’ – an oft heard lyrical expression within metal, originating from the Hermetiscism. Something that has led me to scratch my head many times over. While contemplating Terra Damnata, the new full-length of Nightbringer, I found my personal (engineers’) perspective on this: we build the world as we see (f)it, and the […]

  • CD review 2017
  • Obituary – Obituary

    Obituary is one of the best-selling death metal bands of all time and therefore hardly needs an introduction. Their debut album Slowly We Rot (1989) and Cause of Death (1990) are among the most praised death metal albums due to their unique heavy sound and manic guitar solos. Also their live performance kick ass thus […]

  • CD review 2017
  • DODECAHEDRON – kwintessens

    Dutch experimental black metal formation Dodecahedron (inspired by Mayhem’s Ordo Ad Chao and French metallers Deathspell Omega) are about to release their antagonizing sophomore record upon a metal scene that is unaware of Armageddon that is heading their way. Where the self titled debut was a hint of the band’s technical prowess and explorations beyond […]

  • CD review 2017
  • Fjoergyn – Lucifer Es

    I followed Fjoergyn from their first release ‘Ernte Im Herbst’ until their third full length ‘Jahreszeiten’. All three of those albums proudly stand in my album collection at home, and I listened an insane amount of time to all of them. I fell in love with their rough (avant-garde) black metal combined with a dreamy […]

  • News
  • Ande – Het Gebeente

    Ande is a Belgian one man black metal project by Jimmy Christiaens. This January, he released his second album, titled “Het Gebeente”, which is Dutch and roughly translates to “The Bones”. The album art by Luciana Nedelea is pretty cool and deserves to be mentioned. Although no black metal artist likes to hear it, the […]