Nephelium – Coils of Entropy

Label: Unsigned/independent
Releasedate: 7 February 2012

By: Wouter
Nephelium was formed in 2001 in Dubai but they moved to Toronto, Canada, a number of years ago. The band is still unsigned but they will release this self-released full-length. From what I’ve heard, they deliver quality brutal death metal, so let’s check it out.
The six songs all take 5 to 10 minutes, which is pretty long for my taste. You can find some good complex riffs here and there but none of the songs really stand out to the others, really. What they do is pretty good, but they keep repeating it song after song. Most parts of the songs consists of mid-tempo riffs and some complex riffs and breaks here and there. The plus sides are the vocals and the solos. The vocals are a little bit similiar to the vocals of Abysmal Torment. And the solos are pretty fast and melodic. They stand out to most other riffs because the rythms miss a thick and heavy sound.
Coils of Entropy is an allright brutal death metal record. Nice solos, some good complex riffs and brutal but uncommon vocals. But on the otherhand, the songs are pretty long. The structures become unclear and the songs sound more or less thesame because of that. No riffs really stand out afterwards. A heavier production would have helped as well.

Rating: 7.0
1. Burial Ground
2. Merciless Annihilation
3. Hellborne
4. Malediction
5. Halls Of Judgement
6. Coils Of Entropty

Line Up:
Florian Ravet, bass
Alan Madhavan, drums
Alex Zubair, guitar
James Sawyer, guitar
Devil Anderson, vocals

About admin